top of page
Several Open Books


Vicky Cardullo


Jason DeHart


Jennie Baumann

Yue Gao

Midori Hasegawa

Jill Sarada

The Brenda S. Townsend Service Award

Chairs: Vicky Cardullo (

For the dedicated service to the organization, the process of nomination and selection will be the following:

  1. A current member of the American Reading Forum must nominate the person by filling in this nomination form.

  2. The nominee has to have been a member of the American Reading Forum for at least 10 consecutive years.

  3. The nominee has to have served the organization for at least 10 years in multiple capacities.

  4. Nominations are to be sent to the chair of the Service Award Committee by October 1st. The letters of nomination will be read by the committee members.

  5. In October the Service Award Committee will vote on whether there will be a recipient for the next conference and whom it will be.

  6. Presentation of the award, a plaque and life membership in the American Reading Forum, will be made at the conference.

(The awardee will still have to pay for conference fees in order to attend.)

Brenda S. Townsend Service Award

Legacy Winners


2022 - Vicky Cardullo

2020 - Vicky Zygouris-Coe

2019  -   Carla K. Meyer

2018  -  Lynn Yribarren

2017  - Mona Matthews

2016 - George G. Hruby

2015  - Nance Wilson

2014 - Jill Lewis-Spector

2013 - Missy Laine

2012 - Chet Laine

2011  - Cindy Hendricks

2010  - Joyce C. Fine

2008  - Sarah L. Dowhower

2006  - Donna E. Alvermann

2005  - Gary Moorman

2004  - Brenda S. Townsend

The Gary Moorman Early Career Literacy Scholar Award Legacy Winners


Jason DeHart


Brittany Adams


Jeanne Dyches


Emily Howell & Jennifer Van Allen


Rachelle Savitz & Carrie Symons


Trevor Stewart & Vicky Cardullo

2014 Winner

James Nageldinger

Townsend Criteria
Grad Application

The ARF Graduate Student Scholarship Award

Chair: Nance Wilson

Application Information


To Apply:

Graduate students presenting at the December 2023 conference are eligible for consideration for a scholarship. The amount varies from year to year. The scholarship may only be awarded to a person once. 


If interested, please complete the following steps:

  1. Submit a proposal to by September. Please save your paper proposal submission as: lastname.ARF2023GradStudentProposal. 

  2. Ask an ARF member to write a brief letter of nomination on your behalf. Letters of nomination should be sent to Dr. Nance Wilson at by September 15. 

  3. Accepted proposals for a full paper will be informed by October 15. 

  4. Submit your conference presentation PowerPoint and all handouts by December 1.

You must register and attend the conference to be eligible for the scholarship. Scholarship awards will be determined by the ARF Board and announced during the Business Meeting at the ARF conference in December. 


All papers will be published in the American Reading Forum’s Annual Yearbook at

The Gary Moorman Early Career Literacy Scholar Award

Chair: Vicky Zygouris-Coe 

The Gary Moorman Early Career Literacy Scholar Award is given to junior American Reading Forum (ARF) members who are at the early stages of their career (generally defined as the first five years post-doctorate). This annual award was established in 2017 and is named after Dr. Gary Moorman, Professor Emeritus, Appalachian State University, in honor of his leadership and mentoring of young scholars. The award includes both a monetary prize and a commemorative plaque.


Criteria for Consideration

The award targets early career ARF members. The primary criterion is engagement in innovative reading/literacy research that addresses critical questions about policy, theory, and/or instructional practice. Active participation in professional organizations, particularly ARF, will also be considered. Applications will be reviewed by the ARF Awards Committee, chaired by Dr. Vicky Zygouris-Coe ( Application materials include:

  1. A nomination letter (maximum 1000 word letter) submitted by a current ARF member (self-nomination letters will not be accepted

  2. A statement about the importance of the applicant’s research for the reading/literacy field (maximum of 1000 word statement).

  3. A current curriculum vitae

  4. Sample publications (maximum 2)


All application-related materials should be submitted in a single PDF document to Vicky Zygouris-Coe by October 1.

Moorman Criteria
bottom of page