Several Open Books


Carla Meyer


Emily Howell & Jennifer Van Allen


Vera Sotirovska, Bronwyn A. Harris, Valerie Gresser, Tiffany Young, Shannon Axtell, Brittany Jones, Sarah Burriss, Claudine Morris, Kiesia C. Messado, Francheska Starks, and Amanda Rigell

The ARF Graduate Student Scholarship Award

Graduate students presenting at the annual ARF conference are eligible for scholarship consideration. Scholarship awards will be determined by the ARF Board at the conference and announced during the Business Meeting at the ARF  conference in December.

Application Information

Selection Process

Brenda S. Townsend Service Award

Legacy Winners


2019 WINNER - Carla Meyer

2018 WINNER - Lynn Yribarren

2017 WINNER - Mona Matthews

2016 WINNER - Stephen Bishop

2015 WINNER - Nance Wilson

2014 WINNER - Jill Lewis

2013 WINNER - Missy Laine

2012 WINNER - Chet Laine

2011 WINNER - Cindy Hendricks

2010 WINNER - Joyce C. Fine

2008 WINNER - Sarah L. Dowhower

2006 WINNER - Donna E. Alvermann

2005 WINNER - Gary Moorman

2004 WINNER - Brenda S. Townsend



The Gary Moorman Early Career Literacy Scholar Award Legacy Winners


Emily Howell & Jennifer Van Allen


Rachelle Savitz & Carrie Symons


Trevor Stewart & Vicky Cardullo



The ARF Graduate Student Scholarship Award

To Apply:

Graduate students presenting at the December conference are eligible for consideration for a scholarship. The amount varies from year to year. The scholarship may only be awarded to a person once.


If interested, please complete the following steps:


  1. Submit a proposal to by October 1st.  Please save your paper proposal submission as: lastname.ARF[current year]GradStudentProposal.

  2. Ask an ARF member to write a brief letter of nomination on your behalf. Letters of nomination should be sent to Dr. Nance Wilson at by October 1st.

  3. Submit an electronic version of a PowerPoint presentation (about 6 – 10 slides) to Dr. Nance Wilson by December 1st.  The PowerPoint presentation should include a photo of the nominee and a statement of the purpose of the presentation.


Each graduate student will be selected to present at the conference according to the ratings obtained on the blind reviews of his/her session proposal, a PowerPoint, and receipt of a nomination letter from an ARF member.


If selected, graduate presenters will be notified by November 1st.  The scholarship may only be awarded if they attend the conference and present. Scholarship awards will be determined by the ARF Board at the conference and announced during the Business Meeting at the ARF conference in December. 


People who accept the award are expected to consider submitting an article describing your conference session to the American Reading Forum’s Annual Yearbook.


The Brenda S. Townsend Service Award

Co-Chairs: Lynn Yribarren &  Joyce Fine

For the dedicated service to the organization, the process of nomination and selection will be the following:

  1. A current member of the American Reading Forum must nominate the person by filling in this nomination form.

  2. The nominee has to have been a member of the American Reading Forum for at least 10 consecutive years.

  3. The nominee has to have served the organization for at least 10 years in multiple capacities.

  4. Nominations are to be sent to the chair of the Service Award Committee by October 1st. The letters of nomination will be read by the committee members.

  5. In October the Service Award Committee will vote on whether there will be a recipient for the next conference and whom it will be.

  6. Presentation of the award, a plaque and life membership in the American Reading Forum, will be made at the conference.



(The awardee will still have to pay for conference fees in order to attend.)


The Gary Moorman Early Career Literacy Scholar Award

The Gary Moorman Early Career Literacy Scholar Award is given to junior American Reading Forum (ARF) members who are at the early stages of their career (generally defined as the first five years post-doctorate). This annual award was established in 2017 and is named after Dr. Gary Moorman, Professor Emeritus, Appalachian State University, in honor of his leadership and mentoring of young scholars. The award includes both a monetary prize and a commemorative plaque.


Criteria for Consideration

The award targets early career ARF members. The primary criterion is engagement in innovative reading/literacy research that addresses critical questions about policy, theory, and/or instructional practice. Active participation in professional organizations, particularly ARF, will also be considered. Applications will be reviewed by the ARF Awards Committee, chaired by Dr. Vicky ZygourisCoe ( Application materials include:

  1. A nomination letter (maximum 1000 word letter) submitted by a current ARF member (self-nomination letters will not be accepted

  2. A statement about the importance of the applicant’s research for the reading/literacy field (maximum of 1000 word statement).

  3. A current curriculum vitae

  4. Sample publications (maximum 2)


All application-related materials should be submitted in a single PDF document to Vicky Zygouris-Coe by September 1.